We’d love to hear what you think of this first little presentation about online advertising. We have a few more in the pipeline which follow on from this one.
Do you think this will be useful for you?
What topics would you like us to cover in the future?
What do you think of the format and length?
For example, the slide says “Publisher paid if ad is displayed,” followed by the abbreviation “CPM.” What the hell does that mean? “PPIAID” is the abbreviation for “Publisher paid if ad is displayed.”
Yeah, if I guess, I can assume it means “Count per” something, but is it really the best way to teach if we have to guess or assume?
Above was meant to be titled “Agree with Monique.” I thought the URL field was a title field — the kind that virtually all other comment functions offer.
There’s certainly a balance to be struck in detail and simplicity. I’m happy to answer _any_ questions here.
“Publisher paid if ad is displayed” is the idea that the web publisher makes a small amount of money every time a website visitor views your web page and sees an ad. It’s often called CPM.
For example, if I was a big brand company like Apple, I might arrange to advertise based on CPM to get as many people to see my brand as they browse the internet.
You’re right, it raises questions and doesn’t try to provide all the answers in a few slides. I hope it introduces key concepts for people who haven’t considered them before and encourages questions and comments.
We’ll be adding more. What would you like/recommend we post about under the topic of “online advertising explained”?
[...] nicely with it’s product including updates, company blog, user groups & even videos like this one introducing rookies to the ways of online [...]
According to Google CPM is Cost per thousand impressions. Nobody is paid if the ads are just displayed displayed. Someone has to click on them. So if your ad is shown 1000 times and is clicked twice at a rate of $0.10 per click your CPM is $0.20.
Your description isn’t quite right. If you’re paid for clicks the amount you’re paid is called the cost per click (CPC). If you’re paid for impressions–ie, the number of times someone is shown the ad–the amount you’re paid is cost per mille (CPM). Yet another model is when you’re paid only when someone completes an action–like placing an order. In that case the amount you’re paid is called cost per action (CPA).
Google’s methods may be different considering that they are serving up mostly text-based ads, often several at a time. So their method is perhaps somewhere in between the definition of CPC and CPM. Just a thought.
I always thought CPM was Cost Per Million. If you were to advertise with MySpace, they charge you per displayed ad (or impression). So for $3000 USD you get 1,000,000 impressions. Meaning… it costs you $0.003 (3/10th of a cent) per displayed ad.
Just fyi, CPM means Cost Per Thousand. (not million). CPM is an abbreviation that has been around for years in the print and direct mail industry, and in many other industries.
cheers, Karen
is there a place which compares product like Google AdManager, or YPN etc with the OpenX hosted solution? Specially given that both these solutions are not yet available to larger audience.
O.K This is a nice post and replies the same. In a few words this is a better solution than just have Google Adsense or not? Can someone answer that simple question? Thanks.
Google Adsense is a great way to quickly and easily start making money from your site. Many OpenX publishers start off by just running Google Adsense, but after a while start using OpenX when they want to start being more sophisticated about their ad serving. For example, they may want to:
(i) start serving house ads or campaigns from direct advertisers as well as Google Adsense
(ii) experiment with affiliate campaigns
(iii) experiment with other ad networks, and compare the revenue they make from those ad networks with that that they make using Google Adsense.
OpenX makes it easier to manage campaigns from multiple sources, and track the success of their campaigns. However, if you only intend to run Google Adsense ads on your site, and that’s working great for you, then there’s not currently much reason to run Adsense through OpenX rather than on your site directly.
Hello
We’d love to hear what you think of this first little presentation about online advertising. We have a few more in the pipeline which follow on from this one.
Do you think this will be useful for you?
What topics would you like us to cover in the future?
What do you think of the format and length?
cheers,
Oliver George
Openads Ltd
For example, the slide says “Publisher paid if ad is displayed,” followed by the abbreviation “CPM.” What the hell does that mean? “PPIAID” is the abbreviation for “Publisher paid if ad is displayed.”
Yeah, if I guess, I can assume it means “Count per” something, but is it really the best way to teach if we have to guess or assume?
Above was meant to be titled “Agree with Monique.” I thought the URL field was a title field — the kind that virtually all other comment functions offer.
Hi Frank
There’s certainly a balance to be struck in detail and simplicity. I’m happy to answer _any_ questions here.
“Publisher paid if ad is displayed” is the idea that the web publisher makes a small amount of money every time a website visitor views your web page and sees an ad. It’s often called CPM.
For example, if I was a big brand company like Apple, I might arrange to advertise based on CPM to get as many people to see my brand as they browse the internet.
cheers, Oliver
For a non techy and a new website owner it was still to vague.
Thanks Monique.
You’re right, it raises questions and doesn’t try to provide all the answers in a few slides. I hope it introduces key concepts for people who haven’t considered them before and encourages questions and comments.
We’ll be adding more. What would you like/recommend we post about under the topic of “online advertising explained”?
cheers, Oliver
For a quick review for what you can do with ads take a look at http://www.alleenmaaradvertenties.nl
For examples on how you can use advertising on your website take a look here:
http://www.alleenmaaradvertenties.nl
[...] nicely with it’s product including updates, company blog, user groups & even videos like this one introducing rookies to the ways of online [...]
According to Google CPM is Cost per thousand impressions. Nobody is paid if the ads are just displayed displayed. Someone has to click on them. So if your ad is shown 1000 times and is clicked twice at a rate of $0.10 per click your CPM is $0.20.
The ‘M’ is the roman numeral for 1000.
Your description isn’t quite right. If you’re paid for clicks the amount you’re paid is called the cost per click (CPC). If you’re paid for impressions–ie, the number of times someone is shown the ad–the amount you’re paid is cost per mille (CPM). Yet another model is when you’re paid only when someone completes an action–like placing an order. In that case the amount you’re paid is called cost per action (CPA).
You can find more info by starting at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cost_per_mille.
Google’s methods may be different considering that they are serving up mostly text-based ads, often several at a time. So their method is perhaps somewhere in between the definition of CPC and CPM. Just a thought.
Maybe you can add some more example places to get advertiser, thanks!
I always thought CPM was Cost Per Million. If you were to advertise with MySpace, they charge you per displayed ad (or impression). So for $3000 USD you get 1,000,000 impressions. Meaning… it costs you $0.003 (3/10th of a cent) per displayed ad.
Just fyi, CPM means Cost Per Thousand. (not million). CPM is an abbreviation that has been around for years in the print and direct mail industry, and in many other industries.
cheers, Karen
there is a new way of displaying ads called behavior targeting,anyone knows about it?
online paid survey review…
A great post, I learned a lot from it….
is there a place which compares product like Google AdManager, or YPN etc with the OpenX hosted solution? Specially given that both these solutions are not yet available to larger audience.
[...] years I’ve been using a program called openx to server ads on my network of sites… hundreds, even thousands of websites served by a free [...]
O.K This is a nice post and replies the same. In a few words this is a better solution than just have Google Adsense or not? Can someone answer that simple question? Thanks.
Google Adsense is a great way to quickly and easily start making money from your site. Many OpenX publishers start off by just running Google Adsense, but after a while start using OpenX when they want to start being more sophisticated about their ad serving. For example, they may want to:
(i) start serving house ads or campaigns from direct advertisers as well as Google Adsense
(ii) experiment with affiliate campaigns
(iii) experiment with other ad networks, and compare the revenue they make from those ad networks with that that they make using Google Adsense.
OpenX makes it easier to manage campaigns from multiple sources, and track the success of their campaigns. However, if you only intend to run Google Adsense ads on your site, and that’s working great for you, then there’s not currently much reason to run Adsense through OpenX rather than on your site directly.